Uncategorized

Four Months and Counting..

It’s been four months since I joined the Elephant and I can say it’s been nothing like I expected. I’ll tell what I mean in a few.

Training School

I joined the Elephant in February after a brutal 3 months of intensive studies and training, with exams – lots of it. Successfully crossed that hurdle despite the fear of not making the final cut. Training school was fun, most part of it, but at the same time stressful. I had to study and do a lot of late nights just meet the 75% pass mark. It brought back memories of my college days, even those weren’t as brutal. All thanks to the most high.

Assignment and Resumption

Got a mail from the HR saying I have been assigned to a wonderful department, one I had worked in while with my former employers. Was I ecstatic? Not sure, I wanted to something else but I flunked the interview, getting this was better than being posted elsewhere.

22nd February was Resumption day, we all got together in the canteen to receive final instructions. This reminds me on secondary school all over again but a story for another time. There were a lot of tears and quizzical faces, some disappointed at the posting, calls being made and some smiles as well.

Newbie

After a brief meeting with the group head, we started our orientation, which was to last for a week. After this, we assigned to our various units.

My background helped in my drafting, my unit is a bit technical than the others. If I could not join the IT department, then I might work with unit that interfaces with them, giving me a bit of business and technical mind, 2 for the price of one if you ask me.

Four months and counting…

Four months down the line, with a few tears and a brief moment of ill health, I can say it’s been one hell of an experience. I don’t think I have been stretched like this before. It could the burden I put on myself to Excel or that’s just how it is, but its a wavy (re: Sinusoidal) journey with ups and downs.

I have observed myself during this time and have taken note of my weaknesses.

Understanding a subject or problem is very key to find a solution for it. This saves you and everyone else time and energy.

The ability to express yourself is key as well. They won’ t understand if you don’t explain properly. The earlier point addresses this a bit. Listen, understand and be articulate.

Be vocal! Quit being a sponge, you take in but let nothing out. Be smart and vocal in order to avoid being that guy.

I’m looking forward to the months ahead, I might not be here too long but I will make the best out of it.

One thought on “Four Months and Counting..

Leave a comment